Lionel Murphy Postgraduate Scholarships,Edith Cowan University, Australia

1 post / 0 new
Amar Annamalai
Amar Annamalai's picture
Lionel Murphy Postgraduate Scholarships,Edith Cowan University, Australia

A number of Australian postgraduate scholarships are awarded annually by the Trustees of the Lionel Murphy Foundation. The precise number to be awarded each year and the method of payment is determined by the Trustees in their absolute discretion. The late Mr Justice Lionel Murphy was one of the few judges of the High Court of Australia who has left his mark on the history of the country.

Eligibility requirements

Eligibility criteria:
Applicants should have completed, or be about to complete, an undergraduate degree in law or legal studies, or other appropriate discipline from an Australian tertiary institution, and intend to pursue a postgraduate degree in science, law or legal studies, or other appropriate discipline.

Applicant information:
Scholars are required to give regular interim progress reports and to provide a full report to the Lionel Murphy Foundation on completion of their studies, of their work and other activities undertaken as a Lionel Murphy Scholar.
All applications must be accompanied by three referees’ reports.

Preference is given to applicants who propose to study any, or all, of the following:
* The law and the legal system in a social context and their practical application
* Science and/or the law as a means of attaining social justice and human rights and as vehicles for change
* International law as a developing force for peace and as a means of achieving the rule of law in all nations
* Science as a tool for social benefit, particularly in meeting the needs of those most disadvantaged within society
* Other disciplines, where the proposed nature and area of study are likely to promote the goals of social justice and benefit for the disadvantaged.

Application closing date: 1 September 2010

For further scholarship information